AMSJ » Innovative Skilling Awards winners announced

Innovative Skilling Awards winners announced

2021 Innovative Skills Awards

Like many events, the 2021 Innovative Skills Awards were conducted differently this year. Recognising creativity and leading practice in driving quality training in the resources industry, the Innovative Skilling Awards 2021 were presented for outstanding training initiative, outstanding site trainer/assessor and outstanding RTO training/assessor.

“Whilst we are disappointed our finalists, winners and their fellow peers could not attend the awards ceremony in person, we are pleased to advise that these special awards were judged last month recognising leading practice in the resources industry”, said CEO of the Resources Training Council, Heather Munro.

The judging panel was made up of expertise within the resources training sector including Russell Moon, Savanna Energy Australia, Leon Cameron, Glencore Hail Creek Open Cut Mine and Jim Munro, Ok Tedi Mining Pty Ltd PNG.

The three winners and three runners up of the Innovative Skilling Awards 2021 represent exceptional talent within the resources training arena.

“The resources industry should be immensely proud of its achievements during a very challenging year, “ said Mrs Munro.

“Despite the challenges of COVID-19, our Awards recipients have demonstrated remarkable resilience”, she said.

The winners and runners up are:

  • Outstanding Training Initiative
    Winner – Queensland Future Skills Partnership (BHP Mitsubishi Alliance (BMA), TAFE Queensland and Central Queensland University)
    Runner Up – Kaltire
  • Outstanding RTO Trainer/Assessor
    Winner – Tim Hargreaves – National Onsite Training
    Runner Up – Anthony Barber – National Onsite Training
  • Outstanding Site Trainer/Assessor
    Winner – Peter Cavanough, Redpath Mining
    Runner Up – Wade McCowan, Thiess, Curragh North

Selection as a winner, runner up or being nominated in this prestigious award program is a great honour. Each recipient received a certificate of acknowledgement who all serve as leaders and role models to their peers in the resources sector.

Nominations for the 2022 Innovative Skilling Awards will open in November 2021 with the introduction of a new award category, Outstanding Training Provider. This award category is open for industry to nominate RTOs and other training providers delivering innovative training services within the resources industry. These training services do not need to be restricted to RII or other accredited programs and can cover any discipline or industry area.

The Innovative Skilling Awards are delivered by the Resources Training Council. For more information, visit the Resources Training Council at and on LinkedIn or Facebook.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

AMSJ April 2022