AMSJ » Mining rehabilitation advisory committee established in Queensland
ENVIRONMENT Mine Site Remediation

Mining rehabilitation advisory committee established in Queensland

mine rehabilitation advisory committee has been established to advise on the use of funds for abandonned mines

The Queensland Government have established a mining rehabilitation advisory committee to advise the government on the used of funds used to clean up abandoned mine sites.

Ten of Queensland’s leading resource, environmental and academic experts will form part of the committee to allocate funds to rehabilitate failed resource sites.

Treasurer Jackie Trad said the advisory committee has been established under the Financial Provisioning Scheme (FPS).

“The Financial Provisioning Scheme Advisory Committee will ensure Queenslanders are not footing the cleanup bill at failed resource sites.”

Through the FPS, resource companies contribute to a pooled fund that can be used to address issues at sites where companies have failed to meet their environmental and rehabilitation obligations.

“Stakeholders, including those from resource companies and environmental groups, played an instrumental role in the development of the scheme,” Ms Trad said.

“The establishment of the Advisory Committee builds on these foundations to make sure we get the best outcomes for the environment while insulating Queenslanders from rehabilitation costs.


“Our FPS laws will compel resource companies not to leave holes in the ground and our Advisory Committee will ensure rehabilitation doesn’t leave a hole in the pockets of Queensland taxpayers.”

The new committee would provide advice to the Government about funding requests from the FPS fund for:

  • remediation/rehabilitation activities at land on which an abandoned mine exists; and
  • research that may contribute to the rehabilitation of land on which resources activities have been carried out.

The committee will be Chaired by Ms Maryanne Kelly, Acting Deputy Under Treasurer of Queensland Treasury’s Agency Performance Group.

Committee members will include:

Dr Carl Grant – the Group Head of Mine Closure Planning and Environment (Anglo American)

Mr Richie Ah Mat – Chairperson of the Cape York Land Council Aboriginal Corporation who has extensive experience on committees overseeing the relinquishment of mining areas, rehabilitation and opportunities that support Traditional Owners

Mr Michael McCabe – former coordinator of the Capricorn Conservation Council and member of the Central Queensland Mine Rehabilitation Group

Mr Matthew Paull – Queensland Policy Director and the Australian Petroleum Production & Exploration Association

Ms Rhonda Jacobsen – a Ngempa Kamilaroi woman who works in the Future Acts Mining and Exploration Unit with the North Queensland Land Council

Dr Jo-Anne Everingham – Senior Research Fellow, Mining and Regional Communities and the University of Queensland, Lock the Gate representative

Dr Julie Beeby – Non-Executive Director (Chair) of several boards. Chair of the Environmental Committee of the Queensland Resouces Council

cfmeu mining and energy queensland Stephen Smyth talks on the automation of mining trucks at Goonyella Riverside mine
Stephen Smyth

Professor Martine Maron – ARC Future Fellow and Professor of Environmental Management, University of Queensland. Deputy Director, National Environmental Science Program Threatened Species Recovery Hub

Mr Stephen Smyth – Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union District President and member of the CFMEU’s Coal Mining Safety and Health Committee

Read more Mining Safety News

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

AMSJ April 2022