AMSJ » National Safety Awards Of Excellence Entries Open

National Safety Awards Of Excellence Entries Open

National Safety Excellence Awards

The 23nd Annual National Safety Council of Australia Foundation/ GIO Workers Compensation National Safety Awards of Excellence are now open for entries.

With last year’s winners impressing the judges with exceptional safety solutions successfully integrated into businesses as a priority, demonstrating innovation and proven return on investment, its anticipated that this year applicants will again rise to the challenge.

In 2015, there are eight awards categories including:

  • Best Continuous Improvement of a WHS Management System
  • Best Solution of a WHS Risk
  • Best WHS Training Program
  • Best Communication of a Safety Message
  • Ian Chisholm Award for Best Individual WHS Achievement
  • Best Safety Leadership Program/Initiative
  • Best Health and Wellbeing Program
  • NSCA Foundation Member of Year

The National Safety Awards is encouraging people and businesses to get nominating, which can be done via this link.

Last year’s Overall Winner was Transdev Australasia, who in 2012:

“… identified that previous safety communication had been inconsistent and impersonal, and that localised issues had been overlooked in favour of a ‘blanket’ approach. Learning from these findings, the 2013 ‘Safety Starts With Me’ campaign aimed to re-engage with workers to strengthen Transdev’s safety culture, further embed safety as core value and reduce injuries.

“The 2013 ‘Safety Starts With Me’ campaign adopted a multifaceted approach with a consistent safety message tailored to their business, locations and staff.  They provided consistent and user-friendly material over a range of delivery platforms, resulting in a 14% decrease in their Lost Time Injury Frequency Rate, across overall operations, between 2012 and 2013.”


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

AMSJ April 2022