AMSJ » Standards Australia recognises outstanding commitment at annual awards

Standards Australia recognises outstanding commitment at annual awards

Standards Australia Fish Name Committee
Standards Australia has recognised outstanding achievement through their annual awards (Fish Names Committee pictured)

Standards Australia has announced the winners for the 2019 Standards Awards. The annual awards recognise standout members of the Australian standards development community and reward members of the community who make a positive impact and further the development of standards within Australia and internationally.

Standards Australia is honouring community members for leading the charge in reviewing, updating and developing standards that make the use of international best practice, new technology, and help to improve overall access standards.

This year the headlining W. R. Hebblewhite Medal – which exemplifies leadership, technical expertise and positive impact – is being awarded to Colin Doyle for his ongoing support of Standards Australia through his technical expertise and leadership over his 50-year tenure.


Colin has devoted a large portion of his time and expertise to some high profile standards including a range of standards used by electrical safety regulators, a performance test standard for portable air conditioners, which has been adopted internationally as well as creating the industry code for Consumer Goods that contain button batteries. This code works towards reducing the risk of death and life-threatening injuries to children.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Innovation Award is being presented to Australian entrepreneur Evan Wong, founder of Checkbox whose business is creating new ways for consumers to utilise standards content. Evan is an entrepreneur who is showcasing new ways of thinking within the standards community, as well as showcasing how new technology can change the way we approach our work.

Evan is working towards evolving the static, content-heavy text formats of standards into an interactive and question-based version which navigates the user through a tailored journey together with automated analysis, recommendations and instructions.

Adrian O’Connell, acting CEO of Standards Australia said “The Standards Awards are how we recognise members of our community who adhere to key values within the organisation around quality, community and innovation.”

“We’re proud to work with some of the country’s leading experts across a range of industries and the annual awards help us to celebrate their dedication and expertise. The work they do continues to position Australia as a leader in standards development, and helps us stay ahead of the curve on best practice, safety and new technologies.

The Emerging Leader Award is being presented to Dr Philippa (Pip) Ryan, chairperson of the Standards Australia Blockchain Technical Committee. Pip’s ongoing work to further understanding and adoption of blockchain within Australia has continued to cement Australia’s position as a leader in this new technology space.

Pip has spearheaded global work, proposing the blockchain project which is leading to a comprehensive Technical Report and Technical Specification for smart contracts, as they relate to DLT/Blockchain technology.

This work demonstrates the applicability of standards in new and emerging areas of technology and is a testament to the contributions Australians regularly make on the global stage.

The full list of winners includes:

  • W.R Hebblewhite Medal – Colin Doyle
  • Meritorious Contribution Award (National) – Trevor Tucker
  • Meritorious Contribution Award (International) – Agnes Tan
  • Emerging Leader Award – Dr Philippa Ryan
  • Innovation Award – Evan Wong
  • Outstanding Committee Award – Fish Names Committee

The Standards Awards are being celebrated at a ceremony in Melbourne on May 30.

Read more Mining Safety News

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

AMSJ April 2022